What's new
The Brexit And Political discussion Forum

Brexit may have begun but it is not over, indeed it may never be finished.

Republican claims about vaccine passports ignore the real facts about 'travel papers'

Brexiter

There was a time when I was Jim Hobbs. Actually, Mr. Hobbs was a senior executive, several rungs up the ladder at the corporation where I worked. My boss’s boss. I was only Jim Hobbs when I traveled.

At the time, I was an exploration geologist, and I traveled a lot. Alaska, Montana, Wyoming, Utah … basically anywhere in the U.S. where there was, ahem, coal. When I called up the travel agent (we had a travel agent) or walked up to the desk at the airlines, I simply told them I was Jim Hobbs when I bought a ticket. I did this because the real Jim Hobbs, who also traveled extensively, was seeking Up In The Air levels of airline mileage that gave him all sorts of perks in terms of seat upgrades, free flights, and an unbelievable array of goodies that airlines used to offer back in those there-are-no-cheap-flights days. Having a traveling doppelganger helped the real Jim Hobbs keep that Million Mile Club luster.

Understand that I didn’t just buy tickets under the name Hobbs. I walked onto planes waving those tickets. No one ever asked for any kind of proof of who I was.

That’s because, in those well-before-9/11 days, it was perfectly possible to step onto a jet in the United States without once showing an ID. You didn’t have to show an ID to the airline ticket agent. You didn’t have to show an ID to the airport security—if there was any. You didn’t have to show an ID to the gate agent when you got on the plane. You didn’t have to show an ID at all.

So when Republicans start moaning about vaccine passports, they’re ignoring the fact that the battle to travel around the U.S. without providing some proof of identity was irrevocably surrendered decades ago.